Inna lillahi wa inallah-e-raji’oon

How many of us have lost someone dear to us?

I lost a cousin a year ago in January. I barely knew him. He came to visit and stayed for a few months. It doesn’t take much for me to get attached to someone. He was a great person. So friendly. He got along with everyone here so well, alhamdulillah. He teased me and I fired back. We got along alright. Looking back, I wish I would have spent more time with him. Get to know him. I promise I’ll never make that mistake again.

He passed away in a car accident, a day after his birthday. It was heartbreaking. Nothing like that had ever happened in our family before. It hit hard. He was so young. He had so much out there for him.

But now he’s in amazing hands and I trust Allah.

I lost another person this Thursday, February 16, around ten. Right after maghrib time. She passed away on a Friday, alhamdulillah. I wouldn’t expect any less. She had a beautiful soul. She was well recognized around here. She taught in a masjid. She started in 2000 and had last day was 2016, December. She battled a difficult battle for months before he passed away. Taken by the angels and placed in the merciful hands of the most forgiving, Allah. She, too, was young. Still had a little son to tend to.

Allah’s watching over him.

This man, I didn’t know too well. No, he didn’t pass away. He’s paralyzed. Only 16. Ya Allah, when I heard this, I couldn’t believe this. Someone I had knew is paralyzed? How, Allah? He’s only 16. He had a life planned. He had so much going for him, ya Allah. But Allah knows best.

All of this is just shocking and never fails to leave me heart broken and confused.

“Why do people celebrate their birthday when they’re only one year closer to their death?”

Inna lillahi wa inallah-e-raji’oon

I hope you can remember there people in your duas, In Shaa Allah.

And may we all die peacefully when Allah is pleased with us. Ameen.

